Post Card

I was given an assignemnt to select a post card from the website “www.postsecret.com” and write about it that what I suppose about the writer and what he want to convey to the readers.  

I selected the 6th post card from the top and it says “I swear I ‘m an atheist. But when things get rough, I still pray to God”. This sounds a little strange like if a person prays to God when things get rough, then how he can be an atheist. I selected this card because it seems interesting.  In  this secret, writer is talking about two opposite concepts, first that he doesn’t believes on God, second that he pray to God when things get rough. What I can suppose from the information on the card is that writer is deep in himself and he believes in the existence of God.  But he is an atheist too. This reflects that God also lives in the heart of those who don’t believe him, the person can also feel that, like the writer says that he still pray to God when things get rough.  Now the question arises that if he is an atheist then why he pray to God in hard times, well I think that sometimes all of us wish that there would be someone somewhere who could change our circumstances, so he doesn’t actually believes in God, he fanaticize God. Because there are some people who consider fantasy as a reality. The writer hopes to communicate that somewhere, at some point and at certain level, he believes in God. Another thing what I assumed is that the writer is not really sure about his beliefs; he seems confused about being an atheist and on the other hand remembering God in hard times.

2 thoughts on “Post Card

Leave a comment